If you're not a Google Voice user, I strongly encourage you to think about subscribing. It's free; all you need is a Google/Gmail account. For a free service, there certainly are a lot of fantastic features, including but not limited to the following:

  • voice calling (free calls in the US, dirt cheap rates worldwide)
  • texting
  • call forwarding
  • voice mail
  • mobile app allows you to choose to call with GVoice rather than your mobile carrier
  • one number always and forever (as long as you are alive and want that number)
  • widgets for your web site that allow people to record and send you voice mail messages

One feature that's not only really cool but is also very useful is the call recording feature. When I call someone on my mobile phone using Google Voice (I've configured my phone to use GVoice for all calls all the time) or if I receive a call to my GVoice number, I can record that call simply by pressing '4' on my dialpad (NOTE: the caller is alerted that the call is being recorded).

Google Voice 'more' menu

Once a call is recorded, you can do several things with it through the Google Voice Web interface (google.com/voice). For example, you can:

  • attach a note to the call recording (these are searchable)
  • you can email the call recording
  • you can download the call recording
  • you can embed the call recording (as I did above)
  • you can view and edit a transcript of the call

There are a plethora of potential uses for this feature, including everything from recording service calls you make to recording the voice of a loved one so you can play it over and over again. (Ok, that last one sounds a little freaky; I had in mind grandparents recording calls from their young grandkids who are just learning to say "I love you").

Keep an eye on our site for future posts about other features in Google Voice. Again, if you haven't signed up for your GVoice number, go get it!