Google continues to clean house. This time Google Latitude is being swept up and dumped in the trash bin (http://cnet.co/1dsxoTU). Some people (including myself) liked using Latitude to share locations with important people in our lives like family, but that ends Aug 8. So what now?

I recently received an email from Evernote that introduced me to a trunk app called Glympse (http://www.glympse.com/). Glympse is a free app that allows a person to share their location with as many or few people that they want, whenever they want. What's more, one can set a timer on how long their location is to be shared--and the one with whom the location is shared doesn't even need to have the app installed or have a Glimpse account to view the shared location. The thing that puts it over the top for me: it can save all your Glympsed locations in Evernote so you have a stored history of where you've been! It's very cool.

So, for example, let's say I'm driving to my parent's house in Iowa, and my Mom wants to keep track of where we are along the journey. I can invite her via email to Glympse at my location, and when she clicks the hyperlink, she is taken to a web page that shows her my current location on a map (and even how fast I'm driving, if I allow that). I can set a timer on how long that Glympse is valid, and it will signal her if that location is current or not.

So, if you're like me and you're looking for a Latitude replacement, check out Glympse.